Chairman recognises Somerset superstars at annual awards

Inspiring people from across Somerset were awarded last night (Thursday 23 October) for outstanding contributions to their community.

Over 40 awards were presented to inspirational individuals and community groups from across Somerset last night at the annual Chairman Awards. Among the award winners were a family who keep their village accessible during winter months, a woman who helps isolated people meet new friends with day trips away, and a pub landlady who turned her business into a rescue centre during the flooding.

The winners gathered at Taunton Rugby Club to be presented with their awards from the Chairman of Somerset, Cllr David Fothergill.
David commented: “I am proud to be in the presence of these community champions who all deserve a huge thank you from us for what they do. The time that they give back to the people in each of their community’s is worthy of recognition and I am thrilled I can celebrate their dedication with them tonight.”

Awards were presented for a range of activities that benefit either a part of, or the whole, community. Nominations came from all over the county to celebrate the people who enhance their community for all, through their enthusiasm and dedication. The winners are listed below and photos of the winners can be found here.
West Somerset Winners
Linda Sully
Mary Coles
Kevin Gerald Sully
Kathy Prideaux
Mr Aubrey Knowles and Ms Teresa Miller
The Takel Family (Phil, Frances and Sam)
Sue Shapland

South Somerset winners
Jacqueline Hewitt
Bridget Hallet
Richard Deubert
Anthony Masters
Sharon Humphreys
Roger Cripps
David Wakely
Valerie Rose Norton
Helen Jowett
Maurice Lamb
Angela Jones

Mendip winners
Janet Smith
Dorothy Ann Bryant
Kathleen Newman
Barbara Cowell
Stan Wilson OBE
Cliff Clark

Sedgemoor winners
Geoffrey Parle
Puriton in the Park Committee – Samuel Lewin, Nicki Lewin, Anne Mason, Oliver Strawbridge, Jenny Lloyd, Dorothy Hardman, Abi Jones, Peter Jones, Judith Fletcher, Alan Scott, Mollie Gooding, Yvonne Collins, Jenny Morgan, Chris Potter
George Williams
Joy Morse MBE

Taunton Deane winners
Bill Boland
Alison Brown
Mary Growtage
Heather Venn
Sally Taylor
Peter Arscott
Charlie and Yvonne Back