Taunton Shadow Town Council Chair elected

Members of the Taunton Shadow Town Council have appointed Councillor Tom Deakin as Chair with Councillor Brian Larcombe as Vice Chair.

The first meeting of the shadow council which has been set up to lead and oversee work to establish the new Taunton Town Council, also resolved to adopt Terms of Reference and Procedure Rules which will guide councillors and allow them to carry out business efficiently.

The shadow council consists of 26 members who will monitor delivery of the Implementation Plan drawn up to ensure that a functioning town council comes into being on 1 April 2023 – the same day as the new unitary Somerset Council.

Elections for the 20 councillors to Taunton Town Council, covering the previously unparished area of Taunton and parts of neighbouring parishes, will be held on the first Thursday in May 2023.

Draft minutes of the meeting held on Thursday 3 November can be found at Agenda for Taunton Shadow Town Council on Thursday, 3rd November, 2022, 6.00 pm – Modern Council (somersetwestandtaunton.gov.uk) along with the webcast.